Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minimum expenses employer incurs on an employee in New York

Hi,

This seems like a forum of real experts and I'm a novice here so please help out!

I was having a discussion with my employer, who is based in new york city having less than 50 employees, and he threw out a figure: "we incur a of 15% mandatory legal expenses on each employee, not including any benefits like health insurance, holidays / leave.". And that was his reason for not giving me a small raise.

(So, on every $100 he pays me, he incurs an expense of $15.)

First of all, does that sound right? I was bit shocked although I don't have any data to justify my shock.

So I researched a bit and landed on this BLS link: http://www.bls.gov/ro2/ececne.htm (Employer Costs for Employee Compensation for the Regions – December 2012)

Table 1 for Mid-Atlantic states (NY included) has a section for "Legally required benefits" which total to 8.2%
    This includes Social Security, Medicare, Federal unemployment insurance, State unemployment insurance, Workers' compensation.

So, how do I reconcile the figure he gave me and the this data? What other expenses am I not counting for employer based in New York City with less than 50 employees?

Important Note: I want to exclude non-legal expenses like rent, power, admin expenses for this discussion. Only legal expenses owed to the Federal, State and City governments / agencies.

Thanks a lot for reading and any help would be super-appreciated!
    w
    Last edited by wideeyedwanderer; 04-07-2013, 06:13 AM.

NY employers also pay mandatory disability insurance.

A couple of things you need to understand - charts like that show aggregate numbers, which may or may not be 100% accurate for any given employer. The AVERAGE may be 8% but in order to have an average of 8, some employers are going to have higher numbers and some are going to have lower.