X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal info on Resumes

Greetings!

We are an engineering consulting firm. I am fairly new to this role and Managment has been using for several years now a template for their employees and prospective employees they submit for jobs.

The resume template includes work experience, duties, dates of employement, affliations and professional licenses the employee has.

Also included on the resume is, height, weight, date of birth, citizenship, maritial status, health status and place of birth.

I was under the impression that, we are not suppose to give that information to anyone. Management said they have always placed that information since some jobs require to know that information. They said in this industry our clients must know what type of person we are presenting to them. Some of these people aren't even our employees yet.

Is this legal? If a person finds out we are providing this information to a potential client and he doesn't get the job could he sue us?

Thanks,

There is nothing that you legally cant ask. However, you also have to be able to prove (and the burden in on the employer) that you didnt use any protected information when you made a decision about the applicant.

The areas that could really get you into trouble are place of birth and citizenship,(national origin discrimiation), health status, weight in some case(Americans with Disabilities ActAA), and date of birth (Age Discrimination in Employment Act).

What you need to do is really look hard and first- Do you actually need any of that information and 2- can you ask that information in a non-discriminatory manner.

For example, you dont really need date of birth until the person is hired or unless you are doing background checks. For background checks, you might ask the information on a separate sheet that isnt seen by the person hiring.