• A labor law question

Hello. I work as a low-level manager for a department of a major
    Massachusetts university. Part of my job (and that of lots of other
    people who work with me) involves hiring hourly, temporary workers for
    short term projects. A recent overall of the university payroll
    system has created a situation (hard for me to understand the details
    of) where it's nearly impossible to get someone paid until a least two
    months after they've worked. Apparently, everyone has to be put into
    this system, which has a huge backlog, and then they can be paid.
    Folks put into the system "expire" after a couple of months so they
    have to redo their I-9's, etc and wait several weeks again if you hire
    them again a couple fo months later.

My question is: is this legal? I ask because I'd like the university
    HR to clean up their act, as it's totally humiliating and wrong to
    have to defend this clearly screwed up system to people I've hired.
    But there's a huge beauracracy associated with a large university and
    hard to change things or assign blame. There is a somewhat powerful
    union here, that occasionally takes up causes for temporary workers,
    but not often. But I wondered if there is a law anywhere that says
    you have to be paid for work that you do within a certain time frame?
    Or anything else that applies? Any advice is appreciated, thanks
    dina

A labor law question

"dina" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected] om...