Gave my two weeks notice, then let go with pay?! Massachusetts

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gave my two weeks notice, then let go with pay?! Massachusetts

On October 29th, I gave my employers my two week notice stating that November 15th would be my last day working for the company. I was a store manager and after I sent in my resignation letter was being treated unprofessionally by my area manager. She acted as if I no longer existed and would only speak to my assistant manager. On Thursday, November 13th it was my day off and I only had two more days left to work. My area manager called my cell phone and asked when my last day was. I told her it was Saturday. She then stated that I did not need to come into work on Friday or Saturday but that I would still receive two full days of pay for the days.

Is this considered being fired or laid off? I need to know in order to apply for unemployment. I tried contacting HR and they are not assisting me in the matter.

I read that in the state of Massachusetts you must be handed a paycheck if you are let go. I was not. Is this a case I can bring to the labor board in regards to a "waiting time penalty?" I requested my final paycheck be sent to my home address. I was told over the phone by HR that this would be honored. Well today I'd payday and I've yet to receive the paycheck as promised!

I suppose my main question is.. Even though I gave my two weeks notice. Will my boss telling me I don't need to fulfill my last two days of work be considered me getting fired? Or is it still me quitting? And if she told me that I didn't need to work shouldn't she have handed me my paycheck then and there?

Please help!

Technically you were paid 2 days in lieu of notice. This is like being fired to the state. Not sure if you have another job lined up, but those 2 days would be part of your state's week-long waiting period before you would qualify for benefits.