X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Destined to fail (California)

Facts:
    1. Recently hired (~7wks) as a Program Manager to manage development of new product under awarded Govt contract

2. Company did not conduct proper due diligence and engineering during the Govt solicitation & proposal process. Nonetheless the company was awarded the contract

3. Company was working contract for ~3mos prior to my employment

4. Company failed to properly staff program (lack of resources w/ appropriate experience)

5. I have 15+ yrs of experience in new product development as an Engineer and Program Manager and have always been a top contributor

6. I have an "at will" employment agreement w/ a 3 mo probationary period (although I understand that there really isn't such a thing as a probationary period when it comes to hiring/firing practices)

Situation:

I was hired as a Program Manger to manage a technical team in the development of a new product under a Govt contract. Immediately, it became obvious that even though the program had been underway for ~3mos there was a lack of adequate systems engineering and progress. The team did not have a comprehensive technical solution and current spending was exceeding expectations. Requests for additional resources were denied, in fact I was told to perform some of the engineering myself. I regularly communicated the program poor health status to my direct boss (VP/GM); evidently he was not communicating the entire story to Sr. Mgmnt. That boss was recently replaced, moved back to his previous position for lack of performance, and replaced w/ a new one who I don't think likes me. Under my watch (acting as Program Mgr., Mechanical Engineer & Systems Engineer) technical progress was made. It is worth noting that all progress made to date should've been conducted prior to contract award in support of writing the proposal.