Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was not given equal opportunity in WV.

There is a place that is very close to my residence that I've always wanted to work at for many reasons but mostly because I'm a student, it's close to where I live and they wanted someone for evening & weekends.

I'm at this establishment once a day at least and most of the time more than once a day. Several days ago I'm there and I notice a sign on the door that says they are hiring(I know it wasn't there the day before because I was there throughout the day) I talk to the manager and let her know that I am interested in the position, she informs me that she doesn't have any applications. I tell her that it's no problem and I'm here everyday so I'll just ask when I'm here. For the next 4 or 5 days I ask whoever is working if they got an applications yet, the answer is always no. Finally on the last day that I am there I notice that the sign is gone, I ask again if they got any applications in and they so no once again. Just last night I was at the establishment and they hired someone new.

To me this is the definition of not being given an equal opportunity. I wasn't not afforded the chance to put in an application or "compete" for the position but this person was. I'm assuming that the manager knows this person somehow.

What do you guys make of this? I don't claim to know anything about labor law but thinking about "equal opportunity" this is exactly that to me.

Is there a state agency or anyone I can contact about this? I am extremely disappointed with the actions of this establishment/individual.

Shed some light on this for me! Anything I can do?
    Last edited by Acebeans; 02-18-2011, 04:03 PM.

This has nothing to do with "equal opportunity". There is no law that is going to force a company to let you apply.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment