Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

FL - can this be considered a threat? what to do?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FL - can this be considered a threat? what to do?

Hello,
    newbie here. This situation is in Florida. Some background on this...
    this guy, owner of a business posted on craigslist and recruited some girls to work on a biking event, he told them they would be a potential for making a lot of money washing vehicles, they would be paid with tips, the tips were supposedly put in a place and later distributed. All the girls kept count on the vehicles they were washing.

One of the girls sent an email to the owner asking for the money/wages owed. The owner response is below(names have been omitted). My questions is, seems to me that the owner threatens(underline part) the girl with getting her fired from her current job. I know it's hard to prove if that ever happens, but is this legal? Can this document be used as a reference? any suggestions or ideas?
    Seems to me this guy is afraid that the word will spread and he wont be able lure more girls with the promise of making hundreds of dollars working for tips while he pockets the total gain.

This is the original email from the girl
    "Just to let you know that I havenít recived any money. After many phone calls and emails. I worked the XXXX some months ago. Not just a few hours. I was there for more than 8 hours. And received nothing. When i could have been working my regular job. Everything was very unprofessional and i was very disappointed in the outcome. And i will be letting everyone know about this so-called business they have going on."

this was the answer from the owner
    I am shocked how 4 months later some of you want to say that you are still owed money. Some ladies went home early because they were sick.