X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Might get fired? Minnesota

Hello all, newbie here. Name is Vinnie.

I have been a machinist for 20 years now and was laid off from a 5 year employer Feb. 09. This decade I have been laid off a total of four times. My performance has always been at the very least satisfactory and according to my last employer "exceptional" I have never been fired, never warned or written up for poor performance.

I am getting the strong impression that my current employer (operations manager) is on the verge of firing me. Apparently I am becoming the fall guy for him. We have had numerous parts recently scrapped out, about 50K worth of castings, but they were determined to be an engineering scrap and not a manufacturing scrap. Regardless, the operations manager has verbally expressed his distrust in my skills. I have asked my foreman and other coworkers if they have the same opinion of my skills and the answer is "NO". This man, operations manager, has a bad reputation among the employees within the company and is generally disliked.

So anyway, I have never dealt with a manager such as this. Not sure what to do if I am fired. I'm doing my best to keep my temper and be reasonable.

My questions are:

Can I get unemployment if I am fired?

Contest unemployment if denied?

Should I make journal entries of dates of parts I worked on that were not scrap since I have zero scraps on my record?

Journal entries of things the operations manager has said to me? Etc...

Any other ideas?

Thanks for any response!

Vinnie