This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• legal or not? Pennsylvania

I recently looked into a P/T opportunity, evenings, that required me to close their facility, by myself, at midnight. The hiring manager told me I would not be offered that job because I am a woman, and due to "safety concerns" this was the manager's policy. She told me she had an alternate position, but it was not consistent hours ... basically per diem work. So she refused to offer me a guaranteed job, but tried to offer me a sub par, not equivalent one. Is this legal, or is it discriminatory?

FWIW I am often at this facility, as a customer, between 11pm-midnight. So there's no concern for me as a paying entity, solely as a paid entity ....

How many employees does this company have?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

I'm not sure. It's a gym ... this branch maybe less than 35 people, but it's part of a very large nationwide chain with many more employees collectively.

Comment

Ok. If you believe you were discriminated against due to your gender, you can file a complaint with the EEOC or the Pa. Human Relations Commission.
        Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Originally posted by Betty3 View Post
          Ok. If you believe you were discriminated against due to your gender, you can file a complaint with the EEOC or the Pa. Human Relations Commission.