This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• about to be fired in New Orleans - help! Louisiana

Hi. I am a teacher in New Orleans (yes, it's as bad as you've read, maybe worse) and I think I'm about to be fired. My principal has become very, very unhappy with me for doing things like asking for a bathroom break (we're required to go from 10:03-4:21 without one), asking for the resources I need to teach, asking that my class size be reduced from 36 to something more reasonable, etc. As a result of her anger, she's written me up three time (all yesterday!) for things I didn't do. For example, she asked all teachers to turn in their gradebooks, which I did, and then she wrote me up for not doing so. She had my gradebook in her possession, but she wrote me up anyway. She said these write-ups will go in my file, and it seems to me that she's gathering a case against me. My question: what can I do? I've been teaching 6 years and never had anything but glowing reviews. I've never been fired or even had a problem at a job and I have no idea how to fight back. I moved to New Orleans to take this job and I am loving the teaching and being an advocate for my students. Despite the fights, the weapons, the high schoolers reading on a 2nd grade level, the pregnancies, the parole officers, and the total chaos at school, my big problem is the principal and her desire to be rid of me! What do I do?

Covered by a union contract?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

not enough teachers for union

After Katrina all the teachers were fired and the union gone. Now there is a union, but they still don't have enough teachers in it. So, no, I'm not covered by a union.

Comment