This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• signing a performance letter North Carolina North Dakota Ohio

---I am a salesman for a large medical supply company. Recently, I have been notified that I must sign a performance letter stating that if I dont meet a dollar quota of sales by the end of the quarter, then I am subject to being fired. This comes after being the top salesman of the company for the last 3 years. This supposed motivational technique was seemingly dreamt up by the company VP, and all salesmen are supposed to sign it. Several others have been fired previously, or quit from pressure, but this is the first time we have been presented with these letters.

I think NC is a fire at will state, and i dont have a written contract with this company. Do these letters violate any Labor laws that anyone knows of? I will never quit, because i know its better to be fired and get the benefits between jobs. Just want o know if I have any legal options in case i am fired over thsi letter--i have been informed that i will be fired immediately if i dont sign it.

thanks.
    Last edited by rokakona; 04-06-2007, 06:48 PM. Reason: north carolina only

no it isn't illegal to tell you in writing what the expectations are. Not even close. You can be fired for refusing to sign or not meeting the expectations your employer has for you. That isn't illegal either.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I thought this might not be illegal, but i do believe its pure chicken crap. What this does is force an employee under duress of losing their job to sign a paper that basically forces you to agree to be fired if you cant meet some expectation of performance, even if that performance is unreasonable and unrealistic.