This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Age Discrimination Texas

Have worked for 24 years at a state position and within the last year was part of a restructuring of my old group that was in a different part of the company. The problem with this is that in my last position I was respected and known as a fabulous worker knew my skill set very well and had great evaluations. The new position that I was move into is a completely newly created department and in a different part of the entity dealing with techie issues, databases and a small amount of work I had done before. I have no background in techie issues and databases and we have been told that we have to pass certain tests in a year to keep our jobs. There were some temporary employee added to help us during a major project and even though they had no work or educational background in techie/database/skill set equivalent to mine they have been favored and groomed to be the highlights of our department. They are now pretty much over the older employees and after almost a year they were officially hired. A week after they were hired it was announce there will be layoff in our group. The thing is the new manager could have been training the original employees of the group the skill sets she has been training these new hires (20 year olds just graduated from college but no degrees in our field of work). But she favored them over all of the original employees whom many are over 50. In this new department I have been disrespected by a coworker who is like a supervisor and many times treated as not an important employee (meaning treated as if I was stupid) and they find fault in some things that I am doing that is uncalled for (feels like they are trying to make me an unsatisfactory employee). The type of work I am doing is less than what I had done before even though I am a very hard worker. We are totally micro managed by the 20 year olds and spoon fed every thing we are to do and checked