This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A change in discrimination laws

The answer we've given many, many times will soon be obsolete.

http://blogs.lawyers.com/2012/05/eeo...ainst-ex-cons/
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Yep - I have seen that on several websites.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Thank you for sharing that. Sadly, it is very timely.
      I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Uh, until Congress decides to amend Title VII to include criminal conviction history, isn't the EEOC hugely overstepping? Their role is to enforce existing discrimination laws, not to create policy for laws that don't yet exist.

Comment

Beth, that is what one of the websites I saw it on said - may not be enforceable. It said more or less -because the EEOC did not allow for public comment, it is unclear whether or not the EEOC's new Guidance will be upheld by the courts. Unlike Congress, the EEOC does not have the authority to create statutes or issue non-procedural regulations under Title VII.

PS - different websites had different opinions on it & what an employer can/cannot do & what an employer should/should not do...
          Last edited by Betty3; 05-04-2012, 12:47 PM. Reason: add PS