X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Age discrimination in Nevada Nevada

To anyone that can help,

My name is Nick and I have been working for this storage company for a little over 17 months and i feel that i have been discriminated and used because of my age. I work in a storage facility where only two people work full time. The corp. office is in California. About June of 2008 i was offered, over the phone, that when my boss transfers to Texas I would receive his position if i complete this advertising task. I had to go around to different storage facilities and also Apartment complexes to promote our business. I did an excellent job an got our business many new move ins. In the beginning of October I was asking about when we were going to start interviewing people for my old position because my bosses departure was soon. About a week later my boss sat me down and told me that "The company feels that since your 19 and going to college, they dont want to leave and 8.5 million dollar property in the hands of a 19 year old." I was really mad about that and i emailed my district manager and explained what my boss said and i as ask why this happened because you(the district manager) offered me the position if i did well with the advertisement. He didn't respond to my email. My district manager later came down about two weeks later and said, "The company feels that your 19 and leaving a 8.5 million dollar property in the hands of a 19 year old is not acceptable." I told him that i would do and excellent job and my work so far has proven that. He just changed the subject.

Now going forward about a month. November they started doing some interviews of new candidates for the managers position. On some of their resumes' it stated that they are in college also. that really made me upset. I continued to email my district manager in a professional manner and explained my concerns. But he never replies.