X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California: PDL/FMLA/CFRA and doctor ordered bed rest California

Hello,

I am 10 weeks pregnant with Twins and expect to deliver in end of April. I am considered to be a high risk pregnancy by doctors since I am carrying twins and prior medical history. On the work front, I work for a Billion dollar company with thousands of employees. My office is based in San Francisco, and I have been working with them for 2+ years. My employer does not know that I am pregnant. I plan to tell them once I am 13 weeks along.

A few days ago, I had a pregnancy related complication and received a doctors note asking me to minimize activity (she did not mention pregnancy in the note). I am negotiating with my manager to let me work from home 2 days a week for the next 4-6 weeks. The company has a partial-work from home program,with people with similar job descriptions as mine who work from home 2-3 times a week. Partial-working from home for 4 weeks should help me recuperate and allow me to have a smooth pregnancy.

I am trying to understand my rights under the following three scenarios:

1. Doctor ordered bed rest: In case things don't improve and the doctor orders full bed rest, then I can go on 4 months of PDL (which runs concurrently with FMLA) + 3 months of CFRA around the delivery. If I read this correctly, then I can get 7 months pregnancy leave with job protection. Can the experts confirm if this is indeed true!

2. Work from home for the next 6 months: What happens if the doctor recommends work from home 3 days a week for the next 6 months. Can my employer prevent this even if it is for pregnancy related reasons. Like I said, there are people with my job descriptions who work from home because they have young children.