X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Return to work after pregnancy: Doctor says I'm ready but employer says No

I live in Michigan.

I have been off work since September after being put on modified bed rest due to a high risk pregnancy. I am a Paramedic which requires a lot of lifting and I was restricted to lifting no more than 10 pounds. My employer only offers light duty for those with on the job injuries. I have short and long term disability through Prudential; my claim ended on April 1st as that was the end of the standard 6 week post-partum recovery period (I gave birth to a healthy son on February 18th). My doctor has cleared me for work with no restrictions.

Company policy requires all employees to do a lift test to ensure fitness for duty prior to returning (both new employees and those returning from medical leave). I did the lift test and was told verbally I passed however HR called me this morning and said the paperwork said “unacceptable”. Per policy I am unable to return to work however I can retake the test in 30 days.