This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Social Security Disability for broken ankle and mental illness? New Jersey

I severely broke my ankle at home in January after only three months at my current job. Right now I am on state short term disability. However, there is a chance that I will not be healed enough to resume my position as outlined in my job description and contract. Could I qualify for SSDI because of this? I may never or it may take over a year to be able to perform the activities of my job.(I am a preK teacher) Also, I have bipolar disorder for which I have had previous hospitalizations and lost jobs from, etc and my current situation is making that worse. I am decompensating. So between these two issues, would even have achance at qualifying? With my doctors backing up??

SSDI is for a disability that will last over 12 months, and I think it's for 100% disability. If your doctor thinks you won't be back within a year you should apply. BUT, it's very hard to get, especially if you're combining two problems to add up to 100%. You need lots of good documentation on treatment to support your claim.

Since you've been hospitalized before, that's good info for them, but make sure you're getting treatment for the bi-polar now, and that they're documenting that combined with the ankle injury, it's worse than it was.

To apply, there are several books out there that help you make sure your file is complete so you don't get turned down the first, second or third time you apply. Look for them at your local book store or online.
    I am not an attorney, and don't play one on TV. Any information given is a description only and should be verified by your attorney.

Comment