This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manager held to standards of employee out on FMLA California

I am a sales manager of a major corporation. I currently have an employee who is a commission sales person. She has taken FMLA leave for various reasons for part of 2009 and 2010. I was told that I cannot hold the employee accountable to company standards for hitting sales goals during her leave. I understand and I have no problem with this. However as her manager I am being held accountable for her sales goals and minimum standards for her sales territory while she was on leave. This affects my bonus as I am paid bonus based on the employee hitting their goals. I contacted management and was told that when an employee goes out on FMLA or other types of leave the sales manager is accountable and the employee on leave is not. Is this true do I have any recourse?

Thank you

It is correct that an employee's FMLA leave cannot be counted against them. However, it does not say that the employee's manager cannot be held accountable for production standards if one of their reports is out on FMLA.

Not saying it's fair, but I don't know of anything making it illegal.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

While I do not disagree with Patty's statements, I would want to be very careful in the details here. If you cannot legally terminate someone because they are on FMLA, I would argue that (for example) terminating the employee because they failed to meet sales goals that could not possibly have been meet BECAUSE the employee was on FMLA is just word games. If the employee posted their problem here, they would be advised to run to the nearest labor law attorney to file a wrongful termination claim. That would likely exceed.