This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Discrimination and Disability during pregnancy Massachusetts

I am a manager for a large restaurant chain. (I work in Massachusetts, the company is based out of New Jersey.) Since I told my company I am pregnant they have been giving me "write ups" for incidents that have never occurred. I am very upset by this because I worked very hard to get where I am today. They have increased my work load and also have been scheduling me 8-10 days in a row with 10-12 hour shifts (on my feet). I am currently just shy of 4 months pregnant and have been experiencing extreme dizzy spells that result in "black outs" 2 times or more daily. This has been previously documented my by Primary Care Physician with the diagnosis of "orthostatichypotension". My blood pressure is so low I often have these moments while working, needless to say--a very dangerous situation. My doctor reccomended that I stop working. However, I would need to have some income and health insurance. I am the carrier of my health insurance policy as my husband is self-employed. My doctor told me that he would send in the STD forms for me, but that these conditions are common in pregnancy and that my claims would be denied. Basically I would have a note from my doctor saying that I wasn't able to work, but a decision from the disability company stating that I wasn't sick enough to be on disability. If I have documentation from my primary care prior to my pregnancy, will this help? Basically, they are trying to get rid of me at work, because they dont want to pay, can they do this?

If this treatment is BECAUSE of your pregnancy, it's illegal under both state and Federal law and you can talk to MCAD and/or the EEOC.

However, what your disability company will or will not accept is up to the disability company.

Are you eligible for FMLA?