Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

a subsidiary, a branch, an office or a division?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• a subsidiary, a branch, an office or a division?

Dear Fellow Users,

I'm a newbie here. I'm employed temporarily in China and I'm trying to figure out what one could call a company that belongs to a parent company but:

a) A can take decisions on their own and engage in international construction engineering projects and bidding procedures as it owns all the necessary certificates and qualifications for construction of highways and railways.

b) B has some limitations and is more dependant on the parent company as it doesn't own the necessary certiticates and qualifications... B can't engage in international bidding procedures on their own but they can take part in bidding procedures independently as long as they do it in China.

I don't know if one could call any of these companies Limited-autonomy Subsidiary of XYZ China Corp. Ltd. I've read so many definitions of what a subsidiary/branch/office/division is that I'm utterly confused as business law isn't really my cup of tea.

Kind regards and many thanks for your help!

Any comments would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

Comment

Our best business law responder hasn't been by in a few days. Stand by for him.
      The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Thanks cbg! I'm gonna follow your advice and wait.

Comment

I see dkstaub is currently on the forum. He is a business attorney in Illinois. He might be able to help you even though you're talking China here.
          Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia