within the next year I will have to file bankrupcy as some legal bills come
    into play.

- I owe about $100K in legal bills. They haven't started giving me a hard
    time yet, but I've been paying them $20/month for three years, it's only a
    matter of time.

- We have probably 30-40K in credit card debt. We've never been late on
    anything, so both of us have clean reports, but the amount of debt we carry
    gives us poor credit.

- We'd like to buy our first house sometime soon since the amount of rent we
    are paying is basically the same as a mortgage payment (we live in the
    northeast and are moving to texas where housing costs are half the price).

- I have a somewhat exotic sports car that's 14 years old and paid off, it's
    worth about $30K these days. I'd probably sell it for a down payment on a
    house. I'm not selling it to pay off the IRS weasels.

So, I guess I'm wondering which would leave me in a better position to buy a
    house for about 150K... carrying lots of debt but with no bankrupcy (frankly
    I'm not even sure we'd be able to afford rent much longer, nevermind a
    mortgage), or carrying a minimal amount of debt but with a bankrupcy on our
    credit reports. The IRS debt wouldn't show when the bankrupcy is said and
    done and I'd be in a much better position to pay them the $550 a month
    (payment plan, currently $150/mo, jumps to 550 in november). Frankly I
    don't even know if I can file bankrupcy where I'm managing to handle the
    debt we have now, but I know we won't be able to soon (also have first child
    on the way). I'd like to take care of it before we start getting behind and
    destroying our credit (I estimate 6 months before we're in way over our
    heads).

Any thoughts appreciated before I shop for a pro.

bankrupcy questions

"Rob" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...