This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Falling through the cracks... Missouri & Oklahoma

I don't know where to post this... it's not really malpractice... at least, not in US law, as far as I know.

But... this just ain't right.

I need a surgery. A full hysterectomy, if you must know the particulars. I have a huge abdominal mass... every doctor I've talked to so far has a different theory name for it. Maybe a cystaden, maybe cystadenoma, and the rest of the jargon ... well ... you know that feel when you know your eyes are glazing over?

The first consensus is that it needs to come out.
    The second consensus is that they won't know what it is until it comes out and biopsies and other tests are conducted.

It all translates to a big darned lump.

O.k. that part's simple (?) enough.

The complications come from my being a statistic that seems to confuse folks that should have some idea of what I can do about it.

See, I'm a contractor.
    I am contracting in another state from my home state.
    I am married, and my husband is back home, helping my mother out... in Southeastern Missouri (a very, very economically depressed area), my Mom not seeing well enough to drive is a handicap. I send some of my paycheck back home to support my husband and help my Mom (she was a stay at home Mom, as was most of her generation, until I was in my teens... her SS check is pretty modest.).
    While health insurance is available through the agency I work with, it's not much of a deal. If I bought that insurance, I would not be able to send money home... and that's the whole point of this contracting stuff. I'd really rather be home with my family, but income is necessary.