PDA

View Full Version : Official Lunch Break

JKy77
04-03-2006, 10:13 AM
I work as a receptionist for a company in Florida, I get paid salary and work from 8:30-5:30. I feel like I don't really get a lunch break, IF I do leave for lunch I have to forward the phone calls to my cell phone and answer the phone and take messages and call people to relay the messages all while trying to eat, I also have to go to the bank everyday on my lunch break...this isn't a huge deal but it takes up time. I can't leave for a long time either, say I want to take my entire hour out of the office it doesn't go over very well because someone might walk in to the office to see someone even though NO ONE ever comes into this office. I feel like I should get the entire hour out of the office with no phone calls so I can eat in peace. And if not that shouldn't I be paid for that hour as well....??

Beth3
04-03-2006, 10:53 AM
Florida, like many other States, does not require that an employer provide meal or rest breaks. Federal wage and hour laws require that you be paid for all time worked - including meal breaks unless the employee is entirely relieved of all duties during that time.

JKy77
04-03-2006, 11:20 AM
So technically I should get to leave without the phone for one hour, unless I get paid for that hour

cbg
04-03-2006, 01:02 PM
Not quite. If you are not entirely relieved of duty, you have to be paid for the time, yes. But you are not "technically" or any other way entitled to a lunch break, either.

prelude1271
04-04-2006, 07:49 AM