PDA

View Full Version : Indiana...what is the real story on vacation pay???

Jaybonjovi
03-02-2006, 05:01 PM
I'm getting totally confused...

I was a manager up until last Saturday with a casual themed restaurant. I was terminated for "fraternization"...(always the manager who takes the fall)...anyway, I was told that because it was "fraternization", I would NOT receive my one week of vacation. My director told me that I would if I was in Illinois.

I started with the company 6/29/05. Ended 2/25/06. I worked for the company training in Romeoville, Il. up until Labor Day last year. The day after labor day I started in Indiana for the company.

I called the Indiana Department of Labor today and was told that I AM entitled to my vacation pay...I've seen it stated that way 100 different times today on websites for Indiana.

The corporate person I spoke with says they have on their record that Indiana is one of the states that allows them NOT to pay me because I was terminated for "fraternization".

Why is the State telling me one thing and corporate another??? The corporate chic is looking further into this matter to see if their info. is outdated.

Please tell me I'm gonna get my vacation pay...

Thanks! -Jason :confused: :confused:

Pattymd
03-03-2006, 08:15 AM
Well, I can't for sure. Unfortunately, the Wage and Hour section of the Indiana DOL website has been "under construction" for months now and has very little information. However, I understand from a colleague that, although Indiana law may not require accrued vacation payout at termination specifically, case law in the state has deemed it vested wages and required the employer to pay.

I'd go by what the DOL tells me and not what corporate tells me. If the DOL will take your claim, more power to you. Take their advice.

cbg
03-03-2006, 08:55 AM
I can tell you.