PDA

View Full Version : Not being paid for work performed

qcsocal
10-02-2004, 01:50 AM
I am an automotive tech. in California,new car dealer.My pay is based on "flat rate hours". If a job pays 1 hour I get payed 1 hour x my hourly rate whether it takes me more,or less time to complete the job. I recently made a warranty repair and the part failed while I was on vacation and another tech had to make the repair again. When I got back fom vacation I found that I was docked the full cost of labor for the repair which should have been warantied again.Basicly, I made a competent repair for which I was not paid.Our new manager has a habit of doing this with everyone with out notice.Isnt he required to notify us first before docking our pay?Dont we have a right to contest this before they can withhold payment?We never seem to find out untill after the deed has been done.Can he do that? A co-worker was docked last week for a repair he did 2 months ago.Is this leagal?Ive looked at the California labor code,but I cant find anything that addresses this situation and confronting him without facts seems like a waste of time.HELP!!!!!!

LConnell
10-02-2004, 08:12 AM
Docking of pay is a legal practice if the employee is still making at least minimum wages for the hours he/she works, not just the billed hours. With that in mind, your employer must have had your approval to dock. Usually, most employers will have such documents signed at the time the employee is hired. I couldn't find anything within California regulations that would contradict the federal stance. You may wish to talk to the California Department of Industrial Relations to ensure that there isn't some little known provision that I've missed.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

ohiney57
10-26-2004, 01:33 PM