PDA

View Full Version : Overtime


roberts
06-02-2005, 04:05 PM
Colorado
Can overtime be mandatory for hourly workers and is there a limit to the amount of overtime that can be worked per work week.
Also how much notice do you need to give to an employee that he needs to work overtime.

Sue
06-02-2005, 05:01 PM
I don't find any laws probhibiting overitme, nor any laws on notice that must be given or limit to overtime for your state.

Julie B
05-01-2006, 11:54 PM
My husband and a coworker asked thier employer if they could work an additional day - which brought them to 45 hours this pay week. They were paid thier regular rate for the xtra 5 hours. When they ?'d thier employer he said he did not have to pay them time + 1/2 since they requested the hours. Is this correct? I could find nothing regarding this in the labor law sites?

Pattymd
05-02-2006, 05:13 AM
No that is not correct. The reason you can't find a law allowing the employer to do this is because there isn't one. The employer is expected to know when employees are working. If the employee is "permitted or suffered" to work, then the time is compensable, and at overtime rates if applicable.
http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Title_29/Part_785/29CFR785.13.htm
http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Title_29/Part_785/29CFR785.11.htm

Julie B
05-02-2006, 11:05 PM
Thanks for the response. I appreciate it

Colorado Labor Law Posters
Comply with Colorado regulations with one Complete Colorado Labor Law Poster.
Trusted with customer satisfication.
Call (800) 745-9970 or shop online at www.LaborLawCenter.com.