PDA

View Full Version : PRN - Shouldn't I be paid for all of my work time? Georgia

GA1998
12-29-2010, 08:28 AM
I'm a therapist working for a home health company. I am PRN status and typically work 2 days a week. We are paid by the patient (not by the hour) and receive different rates per visit depending on the care being given (i.e. therapy visit, evaluation, etc.). However, there is a good bit of extra work outside of the actual patient visit that I don't get compensated for and it does not seem fair. I can spend anywhere from 1 to 3 hours a day after my patient visits calling doctors, medical equipment companies, typing patient notes, etc. On my off days I sometime receive return calls from doctors and can spend 30 minutes to an hour dealing with various issues concerning the patient and the call from the doctor. My employer does not compensate me for these additional hours outside of the visit. Is this correct and is it fair? Recently, my employer began paying full-time employees for the extra effort outside of patient visits only after they exceed 40 hours in a work week. Full-time employees are also paid by the patient. It does not seem fair as I will never go over 40 hours since I'm a PRN employee, yet I do many of the same things my co-workers who work full-time do outside of a normal treatment visit. Please help me and provide some guidance as I'd like my employer to compensate me fairly and accurately.

DAW
12-29-2010, 10:44 AM
What is a PRN? I know what a RN is, but PRN is new to me.

Past that, I am including a pointer to a FLSA factsheet for the rules on Nurses. Since I have no idea what a PRN is, I do not know which rule relates to you.

http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/fairpay/fs17n_nurses.pdf

Betty3
12-29-2010, 11:12 AM
She might mean she works when needed - PRN (pro re nata) Latin.

GA1998
12-29-2010, 11:18 AM