PDA

View Full Version : Can my employer tell me I can't work a 2nd Job?

herrgy
03-07-2005, 05:02 PM
I am a help desk manager working for a retail business. I own my own computer support company. Today a memo came out stating that all managers and up cannot work a 2nd job.

Can my employer tell me that I cannot work for anyone else if i am not working for another retail company or another company that competes with them?

Sue
03-07-2005, 05:24 PM
What state are you in?
Are you currently working a second job or plan to?

I find no law that states you cannot work a second job.

I am curious -- did the employer state why they made this policy?

Thanks.

herrgy
03-07-2005, 05:27 PM
I am in NC.

They did not state why they decided to do this. It only applies to salaried employees.

I have owned my own computer repair business for more than 3 years and have been doing this on my own time for all 3 years.

Can they fire me for working a second job? They are stating that if anyone that is salaried works a second job that they will be terminated???

xild
03-08-2005, 06:55 PM
I've witnessed this done before, but I don't know if it's legal. I also don't know how they would be able to tell if you worked six jobs as long as it didn't interfere with your work.

Sue
03-08-2005, 06:59 PM
Most employers CAN terminate you for just about ANY reason as long as it is not illegal discrimination or does not violate a contract.

Therefore, yes, they most likely can terminate you for violating a company policy.

There is at least one major corporation now requiring all employees to QUIT SMOKING or they will be terminated. This goes for smoking on their own time, in their own homes.

I am guessing they don't want to compromise your ability to be available to them as needed - and that's their right.

I wish you the best.

cat
03-08-2005, 10:56 PM
Well I work more than one job myself it is legal to work more than one job as long as it does not effect your current work schedule ....

LConnell