PDA

View Full Version : Can a 1099 worker collect unemployment?

FreelanceTV
12-26-2006, 09:48 AM
Here's my situation:

I'm a freelance TV producer who is about to complete a project the first week of January. I was just speaking with one of my coworkers who said he didn't think we could collect unemployment since we are 1099 workers. I have yet to find anything on the CT DOL website that proves otherwise...

One of my other coworkers also mentioned that the unemployment insurance would come from my previous employer, as in the company I was working for before my current (although soon-to-be former) employer. Here is my rundown because I am not sure how my unemployment will be calculated or which state I should collect from:

From June 2005-April 2006 I was employed as a W-2 worker for a company in NY. The show I was working for was cancelled at the end of March, and I was lucky enough to find a new job within a week.

From April 2006-current (but ending Jan. 6, 2007). I have been employed in CT as a 1099 worker.

Here are my questions...can I collect since I'm 1099? what state do I collect from and how will my weekly unemployment wage total be calculated? I should also add that I am a CT resident.

According to what I've read, I was under the impression that my unemployment rate would be based on the rate from the last two quarters I worked (July '06-September '06 and October '06-December '06) and I would collect in CT. Am I right or would this all go back to my last job where I was W-2?!

I'm very confused! Any and all help is appreciated! Thank you!

Pattymd
12-26-2006, 10:14 AM
Whether or not you can collect UI benefits is not necessarily dependent on your last period of work ONLY, but whether the total wages you have earned as an employee in the base period are sufficient to establish eligibility.
http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/progsupt/unemplt/uceligb.htm#Basic%20Eligibility%20Requirements